THW: PCSO Silver Cup, Three More on Sunday

THE HOARSE WHISPERER  By Jenny Ortuoste for Manila Standard-Today,  10 June 2009, Wednesday

PCSO Silver Cup, Three More on Sunday

Sunday, June 14, is a huge day for thoroughbred racing at the Philippine Racing Club’s New Santa Ana Park racecourse in Naic, Cavite. An unprecedented four major stakes races will be held on that day, making it one of the most explosive event days in recent memory.

One of them is the 14th edition of the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office First Gentleman Silver Cup. The 2,000-meter race is in honor of the sitting president’s spouse and is one of the most prestigious on the calendar for local-bred and island-born horses.

Declared to run are Mandaluyong Mayor Benhur Abalos’s Ibarra, Tony Tan’s Shining Fame, Raymund Puyat’s Hieroglyphics, Joseph Dyhengco’s El Terrible, Jake Maderazo’s Mr. Victory, Lorraine Uy Wi’s Don Enrico, Jun Molina’s Defiant, and Herminio S. Esguerra’s Anonymous.

Ibarra, winner of two legs of the 2007 Triple Crown and the 2008 PCSO Presidential Gold Cup, had a good tuneup two raceweeks ago and is expected to be sent off as the favorite. Don Enrico comes off two stakes wins – the Philracom Emerald I and Emerald II last May.

Others who won their tune-ups were Hieroglyphics, Mr. Victory, and Shining Fame. El Terrible and Defiant placed in theirs.

PCSO’s Chairman Sergio O. Valencia has approved P1.75 million in prize money, with P1.1 million to the winner. The second-placer receives P350,000, third, P175,000, and fourth, P85,000. A breeder’s purse of P40,000 is as an incentive to produce more Philippine thoroughbreds.


Trophies for the 2008 edition, which ran at San Lazaro Leisure Park. The replica of the PCSO Silver Cup (center) is awarded to the winning horseowner.

Also running on Sunday are three Philippine Racing Commission-supported stakes races: the 2nd leg of the Triple Crown, in honor of horseman and late Manila Mayor Ramon D. Bagatsing Sr., and the Hopeful Stakes, both 1,800-meter races for local-bred 3YO. For juveniles, there’s the 2YO Open stakes sprint over 900 meters.

Declared for the 2nd leg of the Triple Crown are: Esguerra’s coupled entries Blue Ocean and Eternal Flame; Rita Pilapil’s coupled runners Heaven Sent (winner of the first leg) and Lively Dude; Nel Velasco’s Dream Supreme; Bienvenido C. Niles Jr.’s Iconic; and Alexander Chua’s Mr. Diamond.

Heaven Sent is expected to do well again, but Blue Ocean, who won a regular race two weeks ago, should not be discounted, and neither should Dream Supreme. All the others will put up a good fight and may surprise.

In the Hopeful Stakes, declared are Abalos’s Henry Sugar, Aristeo Puyat’s Boudica, C & H Enterprises’ Action Sailor, Esguerra’s Chief of Staff and Go Navy, Ilano and Sons’s Blue Seal, and Alchy Enterprises’ Princess Jacklyn.

 The 2YO Open Stakes is going to be exciting, with a new batch of young ‘uns all set to strut their stuff – Big Apo, Esguerra’s Brother Barack and Carriedo, Che and Ryan, Cong, Jeci Lapus’s Ice Storm, Market Value, Mt. Panamao, Roberto Yutadco’s Speed Spell, Summit Dancer, Taste of Paradise, and Woodsy Ribbon.

Both the Hopeful and 2YO stakes are ‘anything can happen’ races that racing fans shouldn’t miss. *** (Web:

Related stories:

3 Comments on THW: PCSO Silver Cup, Three More on Sunday

  1. NiHAWmA
    11 June 2009 at 1:12 am (3659 days ago)

    Very rare in the history of philippine horse racing to see 4 major stakes races in one day.

    Kudos. Thank you very much Philracom.

    IBARRA, DON ENRICO rematch … who’s who. The score is 1 ALL

    Ibarra’s (KB Abobo) only loss in his racing career was against Don Enrico (Garnet Stakes race) in SLLP. Ibarra, JB Guce had a sweet revenge during the Philracom Commissioner’s Cup also in SLLP.

    Both will meet again (FG Silver Cup) NOT in SLLP
    BUT in Saddle & Clubs Leisure Park against six veteran stakes campaigner.

    One thing that is very interesting to see is how Ibarra will respond to his new partner in Pat R Dilema. A tune up is different from a stakes race.

    Take note also about the post position. Don Enrico will occupy stall no. 4 while Ibarra in stall no. 6. Ibarra will be the top favorite. Out infront and will set the pace will be both of them while the rest of the field will just stay close and watch who among the two will fade.

    Expect SHINING FAME (JB Guce), MR. VICTORY (RG Fernandez) and HIEROGLYPHICS (CB Tamano) to be watching them.

    While Anonymous (AB Alcasid) and Defiant (AF Sullano) to be staying at the back of the pack.

    The Hopeful stakes race will see BLUE SEAL, by Account of Grace out of Pay Check, and BOUDICA to fight it out. Not to be taken lightly will be Princess Jacklyn.

  2. jomz estonactoc
    13 June 2009 at 3:14 pm (3657 days ago)

    hi der ms.jenny.. nice that u have a website like this para sa mga fans ng karera.. sana ms. jen u could also put like racing tip section on ur site kasi napapansin namn na ako yung mga guides na binibigay mo tuwing nghohost ka sa sta.ana.. more power to you ms.jenny and we (karerista ng antipolo st. team b4d5th) luk forward on additional info on ur site that would guide the bk’S sa pangangarera..

  3. jazelle_rae
    16 June 2009 at 5:25 pm (3654 days ago)

    Sir Joms mga bulong siguro ke mam jen yun o kaya late info hehehe.. btw, dismayado lahat ke patti 23 24 24 30, unang lundag 23 agad, kanina zero sya, walang ipinanalo si hinete. what happen? buti na lang hehehe