THW: MARHO Jade Championships

 THE HOARSE WHISPERER  By Jenny Ortuoste for Manila Standard-Today,  18 November 2009, Wednesday

 MARHO Jade Championships

The mother of all horseracing events is set to unfold once more at the Philippine Racing Club’s New Santa Ana Park in Naic, Cavite – a spectacular speed-and-endurance fest that racing fans look forward to every November.

The Metropolitan Association of Race Horse Owners’ Jade Breeders’ Cup championship races, set for November 24 to 29 and coinciding with the group’s 35th anniversary celebration, will provide horseracing fans the heart-pumping action that they have come to expect from the quality runners that compete in this elite stakes event.


Open only to locally-bred horses, the program, as conceived fourteen years ago by MARHO pillars Leonardo Javier Jr. (chairman) and Aristeo Puyat (president emeritus), has the long-term goal of raising horseracing to international standards in part by providing financial incentives and peer recognition to encourage horseowners and breeders to produce Philippine-bred champions.

The program has been sustained through the the loyal and generous support of partners such as San Miguel Corporation and its chairman and CEO, MARHO founder Eduardo Cojuangco Jr.; the Philippine Racing Commission; Philippine Racing Club (home track of MARHO), and others. It has been and still is the richest festival of its kind on the racing calendar.

Six championship races will be run on Sunday, November 29, with the following participants and prizes (total from first to fourth places):

San Miguel Beer-MBC Classic, P1.8 million: 2,000 meters, all to carry 57 kgs: Oliver Gianan’s Sword O’War (jockey John Alvin Guce), Joseph Dyhengco’s Ididitmyway (Louie Balboa), Lorraine Uy Wi’s Don Enrico (Fernando Raquel Jr.), Tony Tan’s Shining Fame (Jesse Guce), Nery Sunga’s Es Twenty Six (Antonio Alcasid Jr.), Napoleon Chua’s Gypsy Grey (Patricio Dilema), Herminio Esguerra’s Scud Missile (Rodeo Fernandez), and Elias Chua’s Tigerwould (Michael Yap).

Santa Ana Park -MBC Colt Mile, P900,000: 1,600 meters, all 56 kgs: Dennis Pineda’s Creation (Jesse Guce), Dyhengco’s Boni’s Gem (Christopher Tamano), Benhur Abalos’s Lakay (Dominador Borbe Jr.) and Schadow Strafze (Kelvin Abobo), Manny Santos’s Oh Wacky (John Alvin Guce), Antonio Coyco’s True Value (Raquel), Nel Velasco’s Dream Supreme (John Cordero), Rita Pilapil’s Lively Dude (Mark Alvarez).

MBC Filly Mile, P900,000: 1,600 meters, all 54 kgs: Esguerra’s Nuclear Power (Raquel) and Blue Ocean (Jesse Guce), Jose Mari Franco’s Sutter Dee Night (John Paul Guce), and Pilapil’s Heaven Sent (Fernandez).

Philracom Juvenile Colts, P900,000: 1,300 meters, all 54 kgs: Francis Lim’s Yes Pogi (Raquel), Wilbert Tan’s Thoti’s Best (Borbe), Armando Sanchez’s Real Winner (John Alvin Guce) and Pinakamagaling (John Paul Guce), Esguerra’s Carriedo (Jesse Guce) and Gastambide (Fernandez), and Herma Farms’s Lealtad (Cordero).

Philracom Juvenile Fillies, P900,000: 1,300 meters, all 54 kgs: Santa Clara Stock Farms’s Blonde Ambition (Virgilio Camañero Jr.), Abalos’s Redemption (Jesse Guce), Tony Tan’s Elusive Cat (Abobo), Wilbert Tan’s Perfect Material (Karvin Malapira), Robert Yutadco’s Speed Spell (Raquel), Sanchez’s Tiger Moon (John Paul Guce), Esguerra’s Morayta (Cordero) and Andalucia (Fernandez), Tony de Ubago’s Flying Wid You (Alcasid), Patrick Uy’s Moscow Vallet (Alvarez), and Rona Yanagisawa’s Woodsy Ribbon (Borbe).

MBC Sprint, P400,000: 1,000 meters: Lamberto Almeda Jr.’s Minsk City (Abobo, 55 kgs), Napoleon Chua’s Million Dollar (Alvarez, 57 kgs), Sanchez’s Sutter’s Royal (Dilema, 55 kgs), Moises Villaseñor’s Tiger Song (Fernandez, 55 kgs), Esguerra’s Eternal Flame (Jesse Guce, 55 kgs), and Cezar Castro’s EJ’s Magic (Raquel, 57 kgs).

There are also Breeders’ Purses of P100,000 plus custom commemorative winners’ trophies made in England from crystal and silverplate.

 November 28, Saturday, will showcase the second wave of PCSO Diamond Anniversary Races – the EZ2 Lotto Race, 6/45 Megalotto Race, 6/49 Superlotto Race, Small-Town Lottery Race, and the Traditional Sweepstakes Race, with the highlight event the PCSO 75th Anniversary Race – the Diamond Cup – a unique event that will certainly be memorable as it will never be repeated. A tough 1,800 meter challenge, it pits thirteen imports and island-born horses against each other for the top prize of P600,000.00. Total prizes from first to fourth places total a glittering one million pesos.

Alexandrina, Antiress, Batang Tundo, Fierce Fighter, Fond Embrace, Holy Ridge, Lim Expensive Toys, Miss Elliott, Mooney Money, Multiply, My Hope, Tiwi Magic, and Ziraz are the entries in this special event.   ***

Related stories:

Comments are closed.