THW: Bagatsing Cup and Lakambini Stakes

THE HOARSE WHISPERER By Jenny Ortuoste for Manila Standard-Today, 18 August 2010, Wednesday

Bagatsing Cup and Lakambini Stakes

On August 19, the racing community will commemorate the late great consummate horseman Manila mayor Ramon D. Bagatsing Sr. on his birth anniversary for his contributions to the sport.

His sons Manila congressman Amado Bagatsing and former congressman lawyer Ramon “Dondon” Bagatsing Jr. initiated a racing festival in honor of their father last year. It was well supported by fellow horsemen and outside sponsors, pointing to the warm affection people feel until today for the late mayor.

Now an annual event, the 2nd Mayor Ramon D. Bagatsing Memorial Racing Day will be held at Santa Ana Park, home of the Philippine Racing Club in Naic, Cavite. There will be eight races on the card, with the highlights being the 2010 Philracom-Mayor Ramon Bagatsing Memorial Cup divisions I and II, both 1,700 meters and sponsored by the Philippine Racing Commission.

Said Philracom chair lawyer Jose Ferdinand M. Rojas II, “The Commission gladly supports this event that revives the Gran Copa de Manila races that were a special project of the late mayor to boost the popularity of the sport.”

The RDB Cup I is for 3YO local horses. Handicapping rules are male horses to carry 54 kgs, female 52 kgs. Guaranteed prizes total P700,000 allocated as follows:  1st – P420,000; 2nd – P157,500; 3rd- P87,500; 4th; 35,000.

In the lineup are Air of Distinction, Carriedo, Thoti’s Best, Yes Pogi, and Real Winner, making this look like a Triple Crown battle.

The RDB Cup II pits imported and local 3YO and older horses with guaranteed prizes totaling P500,000 allocated as follows: 1st – P300,000; 2nd – P112,500; 3rd- P62,500; 4th; 25,000.

The entries are Batang Tundo, Dailies, Gentle Irony, Juggling Act, Mooney Money, Multiply, and Fierce Fighter.

In both races there will be trophies for the winning owner, trainer, jockey, and breeder.

There are also to be six trophy races each with added P50,000 and trophy for  the winner only: the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office TR, the Herma Farms & Stud TR, two PAGCOR TRs, and two SMART Communications TRs.

Winning grooms will each receive P1,500 cash for each winning groom, while Red Bull and Pocari Sweat energy drink packs will be given to the winning trainers and jockeys. Euromed dextrose bottles will also be given away.

The Bagatsing family thank their sponsors Philracom, PCSO, PAGCOR, SMART Communications, Herma Farms and Stud through Mr. Herminio S. Esguerra, Red Bull and Pocari Sweat, and Euromed.

On Sunday, August 22, fillies and mares will see action against each other in the Philracom Lakambini Stakes, to run over 1,800 meters. In the lineup are Bilyonarya, Compelled To Lead, Empire Glory, Ice Storm, Ma’am Mika, Open Slew, Perfect Material, Redemption, Sail Street, The Chairwoman, Thief In The Nite, and Westerly Wind.

The first placer will receive P720,000, second P270,000, third P150,000, and fourth P60,000, with a winning breeder’s purse of P50,000.   ***

Related stories:

Comments are closed.