THW: Racing’s Top Ten

THE HOARSE WHISPERER  By Jenny Ortuoste for Manila Standard-Today,  1 June 2011, Wednesday

Racing’s Top Ten

Just like any other sport, horseracing ranks its athletes and participants based on statistics. I personally consider as official the data compiled by the Philippine Racing Commission, the government body under the Office of the President mandated to supervise and regulate the sport.

As of end-April 2011, here are the Top Ten in Philippine racing.

Horseowners: (1) Atty. Narciso Morales, (2) Aristeo G. Puyat, (3) Cong. Jeci A. Lapus, (4) Antonio G. De Ubago Jr., (5) Ruben B. Dimacuha, (6) Joseph C. Dyhengco, (7) Jade Bros. Freight, (8) Ralph Javier, (9) Herminio S. Esguerra, (10) Eduardo E. Gonzalez.

Trainers: (1) Ray R. Henson, (2) Ruben S. Tupas, (3) Carlos M. Vicente: (4) Johnny C. Sordan, (5) Rodolfo G. Mendoza, (6) Cong. Jeci A. Lapus, (7) Renato R. Yamco, (8) Nestor E. Manalang,  (9) Dave R. De la Cruz, (10) J. S. Henson.

Jockeys: (1) Patricio R. Dilema, (2) Jonathan B. Hernandez, (3) Jesse B. Guce, (4) Fernando M. Raquel Jr., (5) Mark A. Alvarez, (6) Rodeo G. Fernandez, (7) Valentino R. Dilema, (8) Kelvin B. Abobo, (9) John Alvin Guce, (10) John B. Cordero.

Horses: (1) Magna Carta, (2) Juggling Act, (3) Yes Pogi, (4) Getting Better, (5) Big Daddy’s Dream, (6) Bosbarawana, (7) Bahala Na, (8) Alamid, (9) Deceptions, (10) Dancing Gisele.

Computation of rankings is done by prize money earned. For more information, visit the Philracom website at

* * * * *

Racing fans are looking forward to June 11 at the Manila Jockey Club’s San Lazaro

Leisure Park, the venue for the second legs of the Philracom Triple Crown and Hopeful stakes series for elite 3YO local-born thoroughbreds. Both will be run over 1,750 meters.

Declared for the TC are: Arvindugo, Barkley, Constatic, Hari ng Yambo, Lord of War, Magna Carta, Maker’s Mark, Tensile Strength, and The Rock. Constatic, the lone filly, will carry 52 kgs., while the rest are colts and will be handicapped with 54 kgs.

Hari ng Yambo won the first leg quite easily, while Magna Carta is also expected to shine. Count on Arvindugo to try his best. Constatic won the first leg of the Hopeful Stakes and could do well here.

For the Hopeful, a full gate: Armoury, Cheeze Mosa, Coal Harbour, Dimasalang, Ooh La La’s Gold, Prime Rate, Wondrous Wind (fillies, to carry 52 kgs.), Olajuwon, Dear John, Smart Guru, Thirdy Thirdy, Tucker’s Diamond, and Whistler (colts, to carry 54 kgs.).

Smart Guru had been scratched the first time around; watch out for him this time, and for Cheeze Mosa.

Also on June 11 is the fourth Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office Special Maiden race of the year, over 1,300 meters. Renato Virata’s Markees World won the trial last May 24 by seven lengths with a time of of 1:24’.

The other declared runners are Ramon Bagatsing Jr.’s Classy Kitcat, Herminio Esguerra’s Fair Wind, Jose Mari Franco’s Huatulco, Kerby Chua’s Pinay Beauty, Wilbert Tan’s Conqueror’s Magic, and Jeci Lapus’s Stolen Time.

Meanwhile, as of presstime, horseowners and trainers are nominating their entries for the first legs of the Philracom Juvenile Fillies and Juvenile Colts stakes races set for June 18 and June 19 respectively at Santa Ana Park. The race distance is 1,000 meters. Declaration is on June 3 with a fee of P5,000 per entry, while drawing of post position is on June 15 at the Philippine Racing Club handicapping department.   ***

Related stories:

Comments are closed.