THW: Juveniles Shine in PCSO Races

THE HOARSE WHISPERER By Jenny Ortuoste for Manila Standard-Today, 17 October 2012, Wednesday

Juveniles Shine in PCSO Races

Local-bred 2YO shone in the two Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office anniversary races held last weekend at the Philippine Racing Club’s Santa Ana Park, as part of the agency’s support of Philippine thoroughbred breeding.

Mandaluyong Mayor Benhur Abalos’s colt Bumpy Ride outclassed his eight opponents in the 1,200-meter PCSO Anniversary Race, posting a seven-length win with regular Abalos stable rider Kelvin Abobo in the saddle.

The duo outlasted second pick Angel of Mine, the frontrunner for most of the race. Guided by Pat Dilema, the Kenneth Causon-owned Angel of Mine did not finish in the money.

Sent off as the outstanding favorite, Bumpy Ride turned in a time of 24’-23’-24 for a total 1:14.4.

Antonio de Ubago’s Mrs. Teapot placed second, Jade Brothers Farm’s Pocket Power in third and lawyer Sixto Esquivias IV’s Niagara Boogie fourth.

Top favorite Leonidez Might dominated the 1,200 meter PCSO Anniversary Race last October 14, Sunday, winning by 1-1/4 lengths over five others.

The Rene Virata-owned filly guided by Mark Alvarez and trained by Nestor Manalang clocked 1:16.2 for the distance, with splits of 25-24-27.2.

Lawyer Narciso Morales’s Tarzan came in second, followed by lawmaker Jeci Lapus’s Minotaur in third, and Manny Santos’s Mi Esperanza fourth.

PCSO has two more Anniversary Races, slated to be held at the Manila Jockey Club’s San Lazaro Leisure Park, on October 21, Sunday.

The 3YO Open Regular will be a charity race, with the beneficiary still to be confirmed as of presstime. The 1,400-meter race attracted six fillies: Leonora Pasion’s Seni Seviyorum, handicap weight 52 kgs. (with jockey Red de Leon); Edgardo Mailum’s Quaker’s Hill, 52 kgs. (John Alvin Guce); Wilbert Tan’s Pinay Beauty, 53 kgs. (Alvarez); Morales’s Machine Gun Mama, 54 kgs. (Pat Dilema); Doroteo Pangilinan’s Madam Theresa, 54 kgs. (Jeffril Zarate); and Antonio Tan Jr.’s Pugad Lawin, 58 kgs. (Jesse Guce).

On the same day, the mile Anniversary Open will feature five colts: Esquivias’s Arvin Dugo, 55 kgs. (Jeffrey Bacaycay); Emmanuel King Jr.’s Hi Money, 53 kgs. (Pat Dilema); Divina Dy’s Pleasantly Perfect, 52 kgs. (Jonathan Hernandez); Ruben Dimacuha’s Si Señor, 57 kgs. (Zarate); and Esguerra’s Purple Ribbon, 52 kgs. (Val Dilema).

This race will also be a charity race, with the beneficiary to be the Philippine Sportswriters Association.

The current PSA officers are: Rey Bancod, president; Jun Lomibao, first vice-president; Riera Mallari, second vice-president; Teddyvic Melendres, treasurer; Gerry Ramos, secretary; Fred Nasiad, auditor; Joe Antonio, chairman of the Ways and Means Committee; Ding Marcelo, chairman of the Board of Directors; Lito Tacujan, vice-chairman; and Jimmy Cantor, Aldrin Cardona, Recah Trinidad, Ernie Gonzales, Al Mendoza, Dennis Iñigo, and May Ochoa.

Philippine thoroughbred breeding is a component of agricultural development, hence the PCSO’s continued partnership with the sport that used to be a vital and integral part of the traditional sweepstakes draws. ***

Related stories:

Comments are closed.