THW: Philtobo Championship Day

THE HOARSE WHISPERER By Jenny Ortuoste for Manila Standard-Today, 18 December 2013, Wednesday


Philtobo Championship Day

Congratulations to the Philippine Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Organization for once again staging a successful Championship Day at Santa Ana Park last December 15.

Philtobo maintains two flagship programs – the Championship racing festival that puts emphasis on juveniles, and the Gintong Lahi Awards, the industry’s only recognition program.

Manny Santos’s Kid Molave ridden by John Alvin Guce won the mile Juvenile Championship, taking home the P1.8 million prize. Jeci Lapus’s Fairy Star placed second, worth P675,000, followed by Jade Bros.’ Matang Tubig in third for P375,000 and Herminio Esguerra’s Mr. Bond in fourth for P150,000.

In the mile Juvenile Fillies championship, Ruben Dimacuha’s Up and Away, steered by Mark Alvarez, won P600,000 for first. Second place went to Esguerra’s Love and Love for P225,000, third to Patrick Uy’s The Lady Wins for P125,000, and fourth to Bienvenido Niles Jr.’s Newton’s Gal for P50,000.

Honorato Neri’s Golden Sphinx triumphed in the 3YO Colts Championship, under the guidance of Antonio Alcasid Jr. for the mile race, a win worth P240,000. Dennis Flores’s Unthinkable earned P90,000 for second, Sandy Javier’s Adamas P50,000 for third, and Narciso Morales’s Tarzan P20,000 for fourth.

The same prize structure was set for the 3YO Fillies Championship, which was won by Esguerra’s Queen Quaker under jockey Jeffril Zarate. Juancho Ferariza’s Flying Honor came in second, Niles’s Blush of Victory third, and Paolo Crisostomo’s Humble Submission fourth.

Mutiple stakes winner Tensile Strength, owned by Felizardo Sevilla Jr., emerged the victor in the 2,000-meter Classic Championship, under the reins of Dominador Borbe Jr. The win was worth P300,000. Second was good for P112,500, which went to Wilbert Tan’s Sulong Pinoy, while Javier’s Spring Collection earned P62,500 for third and Jeci Lapus’s Brother Barrack P25,000 for fourth.

Among the Philtobo officers present were president Nonoy Niles and directors Manny Santos, Manny Viray, Marlon Cunanan, Kerby Chua, Rene Villoria, Johnny Tionloc, Rene Villoria, and Robert Francisco.

The Philippine Racing Commission was represented by its chairman, Angel L. Castaño Jr. and commissioners Eduardo Jose and Lyndon Guce.

Officials from the host track Santa Ana Park were Santiago Cua Jr., Allan Abesamis, Dan Valmonte, and others.

Among the sponsors was the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office, along with the Philracom and private supporters as well.

Thanks to Edna Iballa of the Philtobo Secretariat for keeping me updated on the latest on their front.

It’s admirable how their organization, as well as the two other horseowners’ groups, the Metropolitan Association of Race Horse Owners and Klub Don Juan de Manila, keep up their respective racing festivals in the face of many economic challenges, all for the good of the sport and the industry in general.


Related stories:

Comments are closed.