Philracom Chairman’s Cup and Commissioner’s Cup

The next salvo of stakes races from the Philracom (Philippine Racing Commission) are the Chairman’s Cup and the Commissioner’s Cup, which honor past leaders of the government agency which regulate horseracing.

The 2008 Chairman’s Cup is in honor of the Hon. Antonio M. Lagdameo (presently Philippine Ambassador to Mexico). Married to Mrs. Linda Floirendo Lagdameo, daughter of racing patriarch Don Antonio Floirendo Sr., Amb. Lagdameo is a horseowner himself and is a member of MARHO (Metropolitan Association of Race Horse Owners) and chairman of Philtobo (Philippine Thoroughbred Owners’ and Breeders’ Organization.


Set for 24 Feb. at the San Lazaro Leisure Park (SLLP), the 1500-meter race pits the classiest local-bred three-year-olds in the land against each other in a preview of this summer’s Triple Crown series. With a total of P2 million in prizes going to the best performers, all the entries are likely to give each other no quarter.

Indelible Ink, last season’s most talented juvenile, is expected to dominate against a field she has defeated several times. But the steadily maturing Don Enrico, eager to avenge past humiliations, has an equally good chance of winning the fat P1.2 million purse for first.


No honoree as yet been announced for the 2008 Commissioner’s Cup, slated for 2 March at Santa Ana Park. It will feature horses 4YO and up clashing over 1800 meters to snag their share of the total P1.2 million booty.

Possible favorites for the event include Real Spicy, who has already won two stakes races this season (Garnet II and Amethyst I) and Native Land, winner of the 2007 PCSO Presidential Gold Cup. Not to be overlooked are 2006 Triple Crown leg winner Mr. Victory and multiple stakes winners Bumble Bee, EJ’s Magic, and Manhattan.


Both races offer generous prizes to the breeders of the winning horses, as an incentive to the local thoroughbred breeding industry.

Related stories:

Comments are closed.