THW: Fat prizes for MARHO Ruby racefest

THE HOARSE WHISPERER By Jenny Ortuoste for Manila Standard-Today, 22 October 2014, Wednesday

Fat prizes for MARHO Ruby racefest

The Metropolitan Association of Race Horse Owners announced the purses, distances, and handicap weights for the six championship races of their racing festival to be held Nov. 29-30 at the Manila Jockey Club’s San Lazaro Leisure Park.

Dubbed the “MARHO Ruby,” the event is on its 19th running and is all the more special as it occurs in the organization’s 40th anniversary year.

This is the first time the MARHO Championships will be held at SLLP.

The MARHO Classic for older horses will be run over 2,050 meters, with colts to carry 57 kgs., fillies 55 kgs.

The MARHO- 3YO Colt Mile and the MARHO-Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office 3YO Filly Mile have a distance of 1,600 meters with handicap weight set 54 kgs..

The MARHO-Philracom Juvenile Colts and MARHO-Philracom Juvenile Fillies races are set at a distance of 1,500 meters, handicap weight 53 kgs.

The MARHO-MJC Sprint is at 1,000 meters, with colts to carry 56 kgs. and fillies 54 kgs.

One million pesos in prize money is allotted per race, with the breakdown as follows: first prize, P600,000; second, P225,000; third, P125,000; and fourth, P50,000.

There is a guaranteed purse of P150,000 for MARHO-member winners of the over 20 MARHO trophy races for MARHO weekend, and a trophy for non-MARHO-member winners.

Participants – horseowners and trainers – are advised that the declaration date is Oct. 28, Tuesday. Declaration fees for each of these six championship races are P10,000 for MARHO members and P20,000 for non-MARHO members. Only local-bred and MARHO-nominated horses are eligible to join. Declaration fees are non-refundable.

MARHO Vice-President for Racing Butch Mamon revealed that the trophies he chose for this year’s event marking the organization’s 40th founding year are collectors’ items.

“These are resin figures: a field of racehorses for the winning owner, and a mare and foal for the winning breeder,” he said. Jockeys, trainers, and trophy race winners will receive regular trophies in the MARHO Ruby commemorative design.

“We invite horseowners to enter their horses in this landmark event,” said MARHO Chairman Leonardo “Sandy” M. Javier Jr. “Over the decades, MARHO has strived to remain true to its vision of a progressive and developed racing and breeding industry, and to its mission to promote Thoroughbred activities that lead to nation-building.

“The MARHO Championships are part of the fulfillment of that effort, and those who join can be sure that their participation furthers industry goals.”

* * * * *

Seven horses are declared for the Nov. 8 PCSO Special Maiden race at SLLP, with the trial to take place on Oct. 24.

The entries are Ruben Dimacuha’s filly Takeitorleaveit, to be ridden by jockey Jessie Guce; Mandaluyong City Mayor Benhur Abalos’s filly Pamulinawen, with Jonathan Hernandez; Alchy Enterprises’ filly Lady of Diamonds with Antonio B. Alcasid Jr.; Hideaway Farm’s colt Cinderella Man with Christopher Tamano; JRS Farm’s filly Red Lakota with Val Dilema; Felipe Vergara’s filly Driven with Kelvin Abobo; and SC Stockfarm’s colt Mayweather, with John Alvin Guce.

Handicapping is set weight, with colts to carry 54 kgs. and fillies 52 kgs. Prizes are as follows: P600,00 for first, P225,000 for second, and P125,000 for third. The winning breeder will receive P50,000.


Related stories:

Comments are closed.